Business Stories

Thinking Small, Getting Smaller

 

For my first ever post, I decided to share a beautiful story from a book I read in September, 2016. This story I also shared on “The Business Leader” social media platforms.

Enjoy…

I have a friend who is a very successful real estate agent. When the real estate market crashed in 2007, so did her business. Rather than change her thinking, she chose to close her office, let most of her staff go, and work from home. She downsized, just like the economy.

At a recent party, she came up to me and asked, ‘’Have you lost your real estate investments?’’

‘’No,’’ I replied with a smile. ‘’In fact, 2010 has been the best year of my life. Kim and I have purchased five large apartment houses for a total of nearly 1,400 new rental units, including a resort hotel and five golf courses for about $87 million.’’

‘’Why didn’t you call me if you were looking for investments?’’ she asked in surprise. ‘’You know I sell real estate. I’m still in business.’’

Why didn’t you call me? I replied. You know I invest in real estate.

I just assumed the real estate market was bad and no one was buying, she grumbled back at me. How did you get the loans? How did you find the money for the down payments?

With that response, it was clear that we were talking across a great divide. For her, her real estate business was struggling and for me, my real estate was booming. At the end of the evening, she made one more attempt to connect, saying,

‘’Call me the next time you want to buy something.’’

I replied, ‘’Call me when you find something.’’

So far, she has not called.

An excerpt from the book MIDAS TOUCH by Donald J. Trump and Robert T. Kiyosaki

One thought on “Thinking Small, Getting Smaller

Leave a Reply

